Opening Hours

College Lane Surgery

Day Opening hours
Thursday 23 May
8am to 6:30pm
Friday 24 May
8am to 6:30pm
Saturday 25 May
Closed
Sunday 26 May
Closed
Monday 27 May
Closed
Tuesday 28 May
8am to 6:30pm
Wednesday 29 May
8am to 6:30pm

Thorpe Lane Branch

Day Opening hours
Thursday 23 May
Closed
Friday 24 May
8am to 11am
Saturday 25 May
Closed
Sunday 26 May
Closed
Monday 27 May
Closed
Tuesday 28 May
8am to 11am
Wednesday 29 May
Closed

Evening and Weekend GP Appointments

If you are registered with a Wakefield District GP practice and feel unwell when they are closed, you can get help from GP Care Wakefield: Evening and Weekend clinics.

GP Care Wakefield can also help you if you struggle to make routine daytime appointments with your practice nurse.

See a GP, nurse or other healthcare professional.

To book a routine appointment with GP Care Wakefield, please contact your practice reception team.

If you are unwell when your practice is closed and GP Care Wakefield is open, call your practice number to be automatically put through to GP Care.

All appointments must be pre-booked as this is not a walk-in service.

The service is open:

Monday to Friday: 5pm – 9:30pm
Saturday: 9am – 5pm
Sunday/Bank Holidays: 9am – 3pm

For more information about this service, click here.

Target Training for Surgery Staff

The practice will be closed on the following dates from 12 noon until the next working day as normal:

  • Wednesday 19th April 2023
  • Wednesday 17th May 2023
  • Wednesday 21st June 2023
  • Wednesday 12th July 2023
  • Wednesday 13th September 2023
  • Wednesday 11th October 2023
  • Wednesday 15th November 2023
  • Wednesday 17th January 2024
  • Wednesday 21st February 2024
  • Wednesday 13th March 2024

If you require urgent advice or assistance that cannot wait, contact the surgery by telephone and you will be transferred directly to the service providing cover.

Alternatively, if it can wait, we will re-open at 08:00am the following day.

Bank Holiday Closures

College Lane Surgery will be closed on the following Bank Holidays

  • Friday 7th April 2023
  • Monday 10th April 2023
  • Monday 1st May 2023
  • Monday 8th May 2023
  • Monday 29th May 2023
  • Monday 28th August 2023
  • Monday 25th December 2023
  • Tuesday 26th December 2023
  • Monday 1st January 2024

Telephone the surgery when we are closed and you will be automatically directed to the out of hours service.

When We Are Closed

Out-of-hours cover is commissioned by NHS Wakefield ICB, from 18:30 each evening to 08:00 the following morning, at weekends and all bank holidays. 

Dial 111 for the out-of-hours service.

Walk-in Centre

You can also attend the local walk-in centre at:

King Street Medical Centre, 47 King Street, Wakefield, WF1 2SY. 

Open from 10:00 – 22:00 hours – 7 days a week. No appointment necessary.

Out-of-hours services are generally busy so please think carefully before asking to see a doctor and only do so if you genuinely cannot wait until the surgery re-opens.

In a genuine emergency you should call 999.

a group of people sitting in chairs

NHS 111

111 online is a fast and convenient alternative to the 111 phone service and provides an option for people who want to access 111 digitally. 

Your needs will be assessed and you will be given advice about whether you need:

  • Treat yourself at home
  • Go to a Primary Care Centre

If you need face to face medical attention you may be asked to attend a Primary Care Centre.

Click here to access NHS 111 online or call 111 to speak to a staff member.