Opening Hours

College Lane Surgery

Today
08:00 - 18:30
Fri 21 Jan
08:00 - 18:30
Sat 22 Jan
Closed
Sun 23 Jan
Closed
Mon 24 Jan
08:00 - 18:30
Tue 25 Jan
08:00 - 18:30
Wed 26 Jan
08:00 - 18:30

Thorpe Lane Branch

Today
Closed
Fri 21 Jan
09:00 - 11:00
Sat 22 Jan
Closed
Sun 23 Jan
Closed
Mon 24 Jan
09:00 - 11:00
Tue 25 Jan
Closed
Wed 26 Jan
Closed

Extended Hours

Saturday surgeries are held on alternate weeks and are for pre-booked appointments only.

Please always check at reception as times may be subject to change.

Evening and Weekend GP Appointments

GP practices across Wakefield are now offering weekend and evening appointments.

The new GP Care Wakefield scheme enables patients across the district to have access to GP support after normal practice hours.

This enables patients to have access to medical advice and if required, access to a Wakefield GP appointment, through their normal GP practice telephone number between:

  • 18:00 and 22:00 Monday to Friday
  • 09:00 and 15:00 Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays

Patients who use the service will be provided with medical advice from a dedicated nursing team, who can then refer them to a GP appointment that day, if required, at one of two sites across the district.

Target Training for Surgery Staff

The practice will be closed on the following dates from 12 noon until the next working day as normal:

  • Wednesday 15th September 2021
  • Wednesday 13th October 2021
  • Wednesday 10th November 2021
  • Wednesday 12th January 2022
  • Wednesday 23rd February 2022
  • Wednesday 16th March 2022 

If you require urgent advice or assistance that cannot wait, contact the surgery by telephone and you will be transferred directly to the service providing cover.

Alternatively, if it can wait, we will re-open at 08:00am the following day.

Bank Holiday Closures

College Lane Surgery will be closed on the following Bank Holidays

  • Friday 25th December 2020
  • Monday 28th December 2020
  • Friday 1st Jan 2021
  • Friday 2nd April 2021
  • Monday 3rd May 2021
  • Monday 31st May 2021
  • Monday 30th August 2021
  • Monday 27th December 2021
  • Tuesday 28th December 2021

Telephone the surgery when we are closed and you will be automatically directed to the out of hours service.

When We Are Closed

Out-of-hours cover is commissioned by NHS Wakefield CCG, from 18:30 each evening to 08:00 the following morning, at weekends and all bank holidays. 

Dial 111 for the out-of-hours service.

Walk-in Centre

You can also attend the local walk-in centre at:

King Street Medical Centre, 47 King Street, Wakefield, WF1 2SY. 

Open from 10:00 – 22:00 hours – 7 days a week. No appointment necessary.

Out-of-hours services are generally busy so please think carefully before asking to see a doctor and only do so if you genuinely cannot wait until the surgery re-opens.

In a genuine emergency you should call 999.

a group of people sitting in chairs

NHS 111

111 online is a fast and convenient alternative to the 111 phone service and provides an option for people who want to access 111 digitally. 

Your needs will be assessed and you will be given advice about whether you need:

  • Treat yourself at home
  • Go to a Primary Care Centre

If you need face to face medical attention you may be asked to attend a Primary Care Centre.

Click here to access NHS 111 online or call 111 to speak to a staff member.